• W four worlds - Episode 27

  • Comments

    1
    Sunday 16th April 2023 at 16:16

    Finally, this evening, I’ll be able to finish reading Episode 27. I know it’s a long way until completion.

     

    By the way, are we halfway there? I remember that this was supposed to be 64 episodes, but eventually, I read in some of your tweets that this is down to 54 episodes.

     

    Anyway, I cannot commit to reading the upcoming episodes until May or June, which I reckon will also give you time to polish Episodes beyond Episode 31 as you see fit.

     

    Now, then, let’s get going.

     

    Episode 27 Commentary 

     

    #3 having read you’re post  no 0 on Korean format has helped a lot, particularly in this frame. Knowing which line is this or that makes it an enjoyable experience.

     

    #6 I quickly checked the Korean screenplay post.

     

    I’m not sure what to make of these lines.

    That will probably be possible, when you are no longer the Queen.
    And when you have made me forget that you are the Queen of Darkness.
     

     

    They’re in white. I think one of both should be yellow, meaning it’s the character’s thoughts. I do not think at this point, Princess Dong is supposed to know that Lady Cha is the Queen of Darkness. After all, Lady Cha thinks that she is no longer Yonhee.

     

    #15 the icon is lady cha, but like Yonhee, we are confused as to who she actually is. Probably the effect of her deal with the correspondent. The identity of lady cha vis-à-vis Mira is starting to blur.

     

    #16 surprise attack!

     

    #17 too bad I’m just relying on text and my imagination as the bodies pile up

     

    #29 oh my. Two dangerous events happening simultaneously in two manhwas. What would Soobong do?

     

    #30 another misunderstanding will complicate stuff

     

    #32 o shit!

     

    #37 too bad I haven’t watched John Wick to appreciate what you’re doing here

     

    #47 so is ‘the real world’ in actual truth part of an elaborate manhwa? It seems random at this point.

     

    Sure, the time stop in Queen of Darkness did not happen, but this is something totally new. Some viewers of the original W kdrama actually thought that the ‘real world’ is part of a manhwa. I can’t remember who said it, probably some random comment.

     

    #51 in previous frames, YJ wondered if she’s in W. But it’s the real world!

     

    It’s a great cliffhanger, the best you made so far.

     

     

    Anyway, I’ll read any upcoming episodes you publish by May or June. Take your time with them because you took time editing these episodes, and out comes a polished product.  

     

    It would be nice if there’s at least 5 episodes to read by then. I can anticipate that we’ll experience some highs, some twists and turns in the next few episodes that’s higher than we had so far.

      • Sunday 16th April 2023 at 17:47

        About the length of the drama.

        My drama has a big flaw: episodes 1 to 13 are ~25 minutes long. But 14+ are 40 minutes episodes. And I can't really rewrite the first few episodes because of the photo edits. I don't know if I'll ever find a solution to that. I originally wanted to do 30-minute episodes because of the photo edits. It's stupid. I should have written everything as a coherent screenplay. I can't even think about how to fix anything again, until I finish fixing everything to the end. Now I'm setting this one goal.

        It comes to this conclusion: the end of episode 27 is the exact half of the drama in the old files.

        I don't know about the number of episodes. Of course this is distorted by the too short first episodes, giving the impression that there will be more episodes before 27. But not in terms of screentime.

         

        #6

        Here, Yoon-Hee made a big mistake. But she was very lucky, Mi-Ra didn't pick it up. However, later in the episode, Mi-Ra remembers it when she becomes the Queen of Darkness. Because of her emotions for Yoon-Hee, she didn't pay attention the first time.

         

        #17

        Even using images, I could never find images for this I think. Too specific.

         

        #29

        This episode has a lot of twists and turns about who takes turns dominating.

         

        #37

        John Wick is an evolution of Honk Kong action movies, John Woo style. With whom we would put some Korean movies like "The vilainess". As an action movie, it's the best! The scenario is quite funny. More constructed than the simplicity of the plot suggests.

        Even without having seen the movie, there are some close fight descriptions quite stylish, allowing to perceive that. Maybe I could have come up with some other ideas. In a screenplay with a lot of action, you can't describe everything accurately. I alternate precise shots, with more general ones (as if to say: the director and the stuntmen will do something cool here).

        There was something frustrating in season 1: Kang Chul is presented as an expert in shooting. However, he doesn't use this ability. Just once, and something messy at close range. Even though it's W and not particularly action focused, I wanted us to see Kang Chul in action as a shooter. Several scenes. Episode 13, then episode 26, and finally this episode with lots of shooting and fighting. It makes him much cooler. ^^

         

        #46

        Here we have a first cliffhanger. Which should be the main one under normal conditions, because it's terrible to have all the heroes dying, but........

         

        #47 and up

        ....... This is W!!! And that's overkill with an even crazier cliffhanger. Less classic, and more in line with the concept of the drama.

        A pure goosebump one. (feel it with one of the background music of season 1)

        I think it's possible to guess why the appearance of the dimensional portal in "Queen of Darkness" didn't work out. But it is not easy. Anyway... it will be well explained at some point. Season 2 explains things a lot more than season 1. I still don't know if that's better or not. I'll talk about it some other time (or maybe I already have).

        As for Yeon-Joo's situation... There are few clues (but there are some)... Anyway, now she'll have to deal with this madness soon. There is bound to be an explanation. And it won't be long, because given the situation, of course, there is "urgency". The chance of guessing is small but not zero. I removed a clue when rewriting, because I thought it would be too easy otherwise. ahah.

        Note this: right from the start, Yeon-Joo could know she's not in W. There is the tablet and the living room didn't change. But she was so confused that she made this assumption. Useless one. But no choice, her mind was unable to accept what happens.

        While I'm in that: she also made another false assumption: she looks at the clock and see it doesn't move. But after throwing the pencils on the floor, she think it's just a located phenomenon about just the frozen coffee cup. Silly? Just she can't accept and need something to reassure her. So she think it's just the cup, even when she got the proof just before it wasn't just the cup.

        I didn't have the ending image, but I went to the trouble of finding one (even though I don't do photo-montage anymore). It was worth it to have Yeon-Joo's head cooled (I added a blue filter by the way).

        This cliffhanger is one of the 3 or 4 biggest in the drama. Effectively, the sequel tends to continue in a pretty crazy way. W feeling!!! The beginning of the drama starts on more simple situations. I was afraid that the audience would think that it's just a drama with easy variations, like introducing a new manhwa, with ordinary adventures. That's why at the end of episode 13, I put these mysterious flashforwards. To give the idea that it would be BIG. Once we get to episode 27 and after multiple crazy W: I think we can get a good idea of that. Like the original drama, the manhwa concept is one of the main obstacles. It's crazy brainy mind-blowing W stuff.

        Not easy to stop on that. It's a bit sadistic to have this as the last episode released. I hope I won't die of a silly accident before publishing the sequel... ^^

    Suivre le flux RSS des commentaires


    Add comment

    Name / User name:

    E-mail (optional):

    Website (optional):

    Comment: