• W four worlds - Episode 12

  • Comments

    1
    Friday 23rd December 2022 at 17:56

     Episode 12 Commentary

     

    #3. FLASHBACK, Ep11 - Ren-Bo's bathroom (morning).

     

    Okay, fanservicey moment. But Soo-bong brought the manhwa with him, so it’s only a matter of how Ren-bo will come to read Butterfly Girl. In the next few moments? Several episodes later? Or at the end of this episode?

     

    _________

    #4. "Real World" - Iksan Prison, Surroundings (night).

     

    Scene with these clowns. Let’s see if I’ll appreciate them this time.

     

    #6

    Okay, so far, so good.

     

    _____

    #9

    “As soon as Soo-Bong gets out of the manhwa, it will be quick.”

     

    That’s what you think! You can’t be optimistic like that, Yeon-joo!

     

    _____

    #11

    The previous scenes were relatively tensed. This one allows us to breathe.

     

    ____

    #12. Ren-Bo house, Hut (morning).

     

    She mentions ‘greenhouse.’ Looks like we’ll meet the villain here.

     

    ________

    #14

     

    I smiled a bit at Kang-chul’s conversation with the PD. KC knows what actually happened and he can’t reconcile that fact that the PD would like to change the details in the adaptation.

     

    _____

    #18

     

    I miss this thinking Yeon-joo. A lot of the comments in the W drama likes YJ initially but got disappointed that such characterisation was absent in the later episodes.

     

    To be fair, much of the thinking and theorising came from Kang-chul.

     

    _____

    #20

     

    Now we see that Soo-bong brought his tablet all along. Actually, under #12, I was typing that it seemed that Soo-bong brought the tablet with him, and wondered how he did it, considering that he was in the toilet. Did he have it inside his clothed just in case?

     

    But I deleted it because I thought the pink scooter materialised out of thin air thanks to SB, but I had some doubts.

     

    At the end of #22, we are led to pay attention to the brown dot. I don’t know what that is, but it must be important because it was used as an episode ender but the following episode did not explain what that dot is for.

     

    __

    #21

     

    so figuring out what the brown dot is, is key. YJ apparently has figured it out, but we will see what it is for.

     

    (I backtracked to Episode 9. It was caused by a small thorn. I checked Episode 10, and with all the details for Ep 10, it’s only natural for me to forget this detail until this episode).

     

    ____

    #24

     

    Duh! I completely forgot! Once you become the main character, you’re no longer invincible!

     

    In retrospect, it’s an element of foreshadowing, but why is this detail so crucial in that it is now being emphasised?

     

    Sorry, man, I’m not good at predicting. I can only think at this moment that he’ll get a beating at the hands of the main villain and his men.

     

    ____

    #34

     

    this is the perhaps the high point of this episode, the abduction attempt

     

    -----

    #36

    poor Soo-bong :(

     

    #41

    shit’s got real and they can’t even react properly!

     

    ______

    #52

     

    This was intense! I know Episode 13 is being done at the moment and will come out in the next few days or perhaps sometime next year. I don’t know.

     

    But this episode is a fitting season finale.

     

    Sorry if my comments above are not exactly useful. I can’t think of anything to write about.

     

    ___________

    I’m checking what I typed above in relation to our talk in Twitter about fractionation. This is how I ‘graphed’ for lack of a better word the level of intensity in this episode.

     

    ****

    scene prior to #11 is a high point

     

    Then we go down to the valley from #12 onwards

     

    Then #27 rises up in intensity....sudden fall in #29

     

    #30 rises back nearing the level of #27

     

    #31 matches #11, then #32 shoots up exponentially and doesn't let up until the ending frame #52

    ****

     

    Until the next episode becomes available, this concludes my reading of W: Season 2.

     

    And despite my issues with the duo, it's an enjoyable read and would love to read more. And too bad we’re not even in the Queen of Darkness arc!

      • Friday 23rd December 2022 at 19:53

        Hello, I'm glad you liked this episode.

        I wish they were all as intense, but I'm limited by my capacities, and also because the climax depends on the previous events. You don't reach a mount unless you start the hike from the valley. 

        I'm working on episode 13 with difficulty to estimate the design time (just that the writing is already corrected to the millimeter). It's grueling, as I'm always juggling lots of open folders, doing research, tons of files, images everywhere, problems with the graphics software, etc. It's tiring as a type of work on the computer. Since I'm going to abandon this format next, concentrating on writing is much more relaxing, and also faster. I will still have some headaches soon. I plan to delete one or two episodes but that means restructuring, which is complicated. Otherwise, I'd like to have a regular and satisfactory rhythm of publication. Everything is already written but corrections are essential, as it is so imperfect. I'll post an example of scene correction before/after, to give an idea of the damage on some badly written scenes (but which have all the useful ideas).

        I understand your notion of fractionation better. I usually call it "tension-relaxation". A tense moment is more tense if there is relaxation before. Song Jae-Jung uses this. And even comical scenes in the middle of a tense moment at times.

        It depends a lot on the order of the scenes. I don't always have the optimal order and it's tricky. For example, having too many relaxing scenes in a row is not good, because it makes the story drag too much. I'm afraid I have this problem at times. Or at least I think I do in some of the later episodes. I still have a chance to improve this. When I started to imagine this story, I was convinced that I had the right ideas. But I had no illusions about some of the practical aspects. It's impossible to do better than the original writer in terms of efficiency, because her professional experience is amazing.

         

        #3. I can't say anything, because... spoiler. :-D

         

        #4. The scene with Sang-Deuk is pretty short, so it's normal that you're fine with it. Aside from pointing out his presence, it transitions to the scene of Kang Chul entering the prison.

         

        #14. Since there is no more Yeon-Joo / Professor Park interaction, we can say that the Kang Chul / Director Jung interactions are the substitute. By the way, he also gave him a nickname: the circus scarecrow.

         

        #18. It's complicated because both Yeon-Joo and Kang Chul have a good intelligence about the living manhwa. I dispatch the discoveries from one to the other, according to what I think is their sensitivity. For example, episode 6, Kang Chul is caught off guard, and it's Yeon-Joo who unveils a plan to cheat W. Thanks to her knowledge of manhwa and fan-service scenes.

        I'm surprised you enjoyed this scene. I hesitated to delete it, because it's imaginary footage (admittedly funny), but it's a bit cumbersome. I kept it because there is comedy, and because it took a little while for her to realize that she was tapping the top of her hand with the stylus.

         

        #20. I'm having trouble understanding your comment because it's a flashback. So, the tablet is just in its usual place, in Sung-Moo's living room. He couldn't have taken it to the bathroom! Especially since Yeon-Joo is still working on it (well, trying to work on it).

        The pink scooter is right under the shed where Ren-Bo is dragging Soo-Bong. Ren-Bo doesn't have a car, she gets around on a scooter. A cute scooter with funny headlights. :-)

         

        #24. Thanks, you confirm that I was right to put a flashback from W about people getting hurt and bleeding when they shouldn't. ^^

        No problem, an oversight doesn't count, it's made to sit in an armchair, helping the audience who wouldn't have seen season 1 (even if I half believe it).

         

        #34. The scene that makes me feel the most "Woo" is a bit before. #31, when there is the time acceleration. I also like when Jin In-Jin shoots his henchman accusing him of damaging his future perfect trophy.

         

        #52. I have to disagree, because... The next episode is worthy of a season finale!!! Source: trust me, dude. :-)

         

        Now, I won't last long, going to bed early. Wake up 5am tomorrow to continue ep13 photo-screenplay.

    Suivre le flux RSS des commentaires


    Add comment

    Name / User name:

    E-mail (optional):

    Website (optional):

    Comment: